Twins change the plan in four places: where you deliver (a NICU on site matters more), what you qualify for (several programs count each baby), what you buy (two of everything that keeps a child safe, one of a lot of things that don't), and how you get out of the house (a double stroller is wide, and not every path takes one). This page goes through each, for Utah County specifically.
One honest note up front: we could not verify an active twins or multiples club in Utah County. More on that below.
This page is practical information, not medical advice. Your OB or maternal-fetal medicine team will set your pregnancy and delivery plan.
Where to deliver
Multiples are among the factors providers commonly weigh when they talk about delivery facility and neonatal care, and our OB-GYN and midwife guide lists multiples as a reason to look at physician-led care at a facility with strong neonatal resources. If you are considering an out-of-hospital birth, note that Utah Code 58-77-601 limits a licensed direct-entry midwife to labors that stay low risk throughout, with "the infant" born on its own, head down, between 37 and 43 weeks. Ask any midwife directly whether a twin pregnancy falls within her practice and the state's transfer rules; our doulas and midwives guide quotes the statute.
The four Utah County hospitals with newborn intensive care, from their own pages in October 2026:
| Hospital | NICU | Maternal-fetal medicine listed |
|---|---|---|
| Utah Valley Hospital, Provo | Yes; level not stated | Yes |
| Timpanogos Regional, Orem | Level III, from 24 weeks | Yes, (855) 790-3627 |
| American Fork Hospital | Yes; level not stated | Intermountain lists an American Fork maternal-fetal medicine clinic |
| Mountain View Hospital, Payson | Level II, from 32 weeks | Yes, via MountainStar |
Orem Community and Spanish Fork hospitals deliver babies but list no NICU. The full comparison is in our birth centers vs hospitals guide, and if one or both babies need intensive care, NICU families in Utah Valley covers leave, insurance and the long stay.
The programs that count every baby
WIC. Utah WIC lets a pregnant woman count her unborn children in her household size. Two adults expecting twins are a household of four, and the WIC income limit for four is $61,050 a year (guidelines effective July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027). Many working families with twins on the way qualify and do not realize it.
Medicaid. For pregnancy Medicaid and Baby Your Baby, Utah also counts the unborn baby in the household. The limit is 139 percent of the poverty level; the Medicaid Policy Manual's table (effective March 1, 2026) puts a household of four at $3,823 a month. All the current tables are in our WIC and Medicaid guide.
Insurance. Add both babies. Federal special enrollment rules for group health plans give at least 30 days after the birth, with coverage from the date of birth. Each baby is a separate patient with separate bills.
What does not double
Leave. FMLA gives up to 12 weeks for the birth whether you have one baby or three. Utah Code 63A-17-511 spells it out for state employees: paid parental leave and postpartum recovery leave do not increase for more than one child born from the same pregnancy. If the babies have a serious health condition, though, FMLA lets each parent take 12 weeks even at the same employer; see the new dad's guide.
The gear math
Car seats: two, checked. Utah Code 41-6a-1803 requires a child restraint for each child under 8, used as the manufacturer directs. Fitting two infant seats in one row, with room for an adult, is the real puzzle; it is worth bringing both seats and the car to a free Utah County Health Department check (801-851-7513). The department allows about 30 minutes for the first seat and 15 for each additional one. Its affordable seat program for WIC, SNAP and Medicaid families charges $40 per seat. Details in our car-seat guide.
Buy used where it is safe. Utah Valley's kids' consignment sales are one of the few places where double strollers and duplicate gear turn up in quantity. Our consignment guide covers when the big sales happen and how to check items for recalls. Car seats are the exception: buy used only from someone who can vouch for the seat's full history.
Feeding two. The Utah County Health Department's breastfeeding consultations are free to anyone (801-851-7312, call or text), and insurance must cover a breast pump. Our lactation guide has the clinics and helplines.
Double-stroller trails
A side-by-side double stroller needs width; a tandem needs smooth turns. Paved, wide, flat trails are the answer, and Utah Valley's best are canal and river corridors.
- Murdock Canal Trail. Paved and built on a canal grade, so it is nearly flat from 800 North in Orem to Thanksgiving Point in Lehi. AllTrails maps the route at 18.3 miles with 246 feet of elevation gain (our own Murdock guide describes it as 17 miles). It passes under most cross streets in tunnels and has trailheads with restrooms and water at intervals.
- Lower Provo River Parkway. The section from Utah Lake State Park up to the canyon mouth is flat and shaded by cottonwoods, according to our Parkway guide. AllTrails tags the Parkway as paved and stroller-friendly. The upper canyon section climbs; AllTrails puts the full Parkway at 15.2 miles with 744 feet of gain, most of it above the canyon mouth.
- Shorter loops suited to strollers, per our paved trails guide: the Hobble Creek path in Springville, Salem Pond, and the Jordan River trail through Thanksgiving Point.
For short outings with toddler twins, our hikes for kids under 8 applies a stroller test to each trail. In winter, check the air quality index before a long walk.
Finding other parents of multiples
Multiples of America, the national federation of local parents-of-multiples clubs, runs a club finder. In October 2026 it showed no member club within 150 miles of Provo; the nearest listed were in Boulder and Fort Collins, Colorado, more than 330 miles away. That does not mean Utah County has no twins group. It means any group here is not registered with the national organization, and we could not verify one.
What does exist and is verifiable:
- PSI Utah's support group list, including free online groups and a postpartum group in American Fork. Utah's health department lists a complicated pregnancy and a premature baby among the experiences that raise the risk of postpartum depression and anxiety. Our postpartum mental health guide has the list.
- Library baby storytimes, which run on weekday mornings at most Utah County city libraries; see our storytime schedule.
- Home visits through the Utah County Health Department's Nurse-Family Partnership (during pregnancy and after) and Parents as Teachers.
- Family Haven's free respite nursery in Orem (801-229-1181), for appointments and breaks, newborns to age 11.
Related Guides
- Birth Centers vs Hospitals in Utah Valley
- NICU Families in Utah Valley
- Car-Seat Checks in Utah Valley
- Kids' Consignment Sales and Gear Resale in Utah Valley
- Every Paved Trail in Utah Valley
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a twins or mothers of multiples club in Utah County?
Which Utah County hospitals have a NICU for twins?
How does WIC count twins?
Do I get extra parental leave for twins?
Do I need two car seats for twins in Utah?
Where can I walk with a double stroller in Utah Valley?
Where can I buy used double strollers in Utah Valley?
Is there help at home after having twins in Utah County?
Sources
The facts in this guide were checked against these sources. Hours, fees and rules change, so confirm anything time-sensitive with the source before you go. How we make Provo.com.
- How to apply (WIC income guidelines effective July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027), Utah WIC, Utah DHHS. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Table VII - Income Limits for Medical and Medicare Cost-Sharing Programs (effective March 1, 2026), Utah DHHS Medicaid Policy Manual. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Health Promotion: Services Offered (Child Car Seat Check, Affordable Car Seat Program), Utah County Health Department. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Utah County Health Department: Breastfeeding, Utah County Health Department. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Breastfeeding benefits, HealthCare.gov. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Maternal Mental Health, Utah DHHS Maternal and Infant Health Program. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Home Visitation Programs - Welcome Baby, Utah County Health Department. Checked October 20, 2026.
- 29 CFR 2590.701-6 Special enrollment periods, eCFR. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Utah Code 63A-17-511 Parental leave -- Postpartum recovery leave -- Adoption leave -- Foster leave (effective 7/1/2026), Utah State Legislature. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Utah Code 41-6a-1803 Driver and passengers -- Seat belt or child restraint device required, Utah State Legislature. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Utah Code Title 58 Chapter 77, Direct-Entry Midwife Act, Utah State Legislature. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Multiples of America: Find a Club, Multiples of America. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Utah Valley Hospital Medical Services, Intermountain Health. Checked October 20, 2026.
- NICU at Timpanogos Regional Hospital, MountainStar Healthcare. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Labor and Delivery at Timpanogos Regional Hospital, MountainStar Healthcare. Checked October 20, 2026.
- American Fork Hospital NICU, Intermountain Health. Checked October 20, 2026.
- NICU at Mountain View Hospital, MountainStar Healthcare. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Labor and Delivery at Mountain View Hospital, MountainStar Healthcare. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Utah Support Groups, Postpartum Support International Utah. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Family Haven: Nursery, Family Haven. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Provo River Parkway, AllTrails. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Murdock Canal Trail, AllTrails. Checked October 20, 2026.